Is it time to revise the Definition of Done?

Quick Thoughts

26 June 2016 • Written by Arpan Mandal

As a consultant, I see many different Agile teams in action at various client sites. One of the things I see impacting delivery is often an outdated Definition of Done (DoD). Agile teams often seem to create this checklist and then never revisit the Definition of Done to improve – missing a great opportunity to improve their delivery.

From time to time, the DoD should be reviewed with the goal of continuous improvement. I’ve found a couple of very important steps missing from the DoD with many teams I’ve worked with.

Here’s a recent DoD:

DOD

As you can see, the DoD comprises a code review, design review, adding tests etc. The testing review is never stated or practised as a delivery checklist. I’ve often found the essence of writing tests is misinterpreted. Most teams do write unit tests to automate the testing of developed code, but what about reviewing those tests? A good code design complements good test design. Design review as an exercise results in better design, mostly involving the Product Owner and developers. A code review aims for good code quality and mostly involves developers who often forget to review the automated tests in this exercise.

Shouldn’t there be a test review to improve the quality of the tests (unit, acceptance, behaviour, integration etc)? I think that adding the (forgotten) test review in the DoD checklist and ensuring it’s done with the right people (testers), is crucial to good development practice.

Who

Developers are not testers. Therefore, a good test review should also involve a tester, as well as the Product Owner, SME and developers.

What

The review should include at least the automated unit tests, integration tests, behaviour driven tests and acceptance tests.

Bonus