Firm foundations for better skills

Big Thoughts

2 June 2014 • Written by Melanie Greig

Five Assurity staff graduated from the BBST Foundations course in April. Melanie Greig describes how she benefited from the whole experience…

With a limited number of testing qualifications available, when a call went out asking for interest in signing up for the Black Box Software Testing (BBST) Foundations course, I jumped at the chance.

Given that few universities offer testing courses, my background – like many other people’s – was in a different field. I studied English and, since then, one of the only other courses I have undertaken is the ISTQB Foundation course.

It was time to re-engage in study! Could I do it? Did I have the time? Did I have the discipline? These all turned out to be relevant questions!

The BBST Foundation course is the first of three offered by the Association for Software Testing (AST). The course covers four main areas – the mission of testing, the oracle problem, the measurement problem and the impossibility of complete testing. It also came with a disclaimer to set aside some time in the month you will complete the course and I would advise anyone considering signing up to heed this advice.

The course sets regular deadlines to complete the quizzes and participate in group projects, as well as complete the allocated readings and lectures. For us, the deadline was midnight on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

I spent, on average, approximately 25 hours each week studying. My four Assurity collegues also enrolled also found the required time investment a big factor in completing the course. While also working full-time, it’s a big commitment and I wanted to make it work. Luckily, I found colleagues, friends and family very supportive and encouraging.